Early Years

In the Rosemead Early Years department (Nursery and Reception) we pay heed to the Early Years Foundation Stage Guidelines but aim to go so much further. Our objective is to provide a broad and balanced curriculum from which the children will successfully progress to the next phase in their education. In the Early Years, we recognise that each area of learning and development must be implemented through planned, purposeful play and through a mix of adult-led and child-initiated activity. Outdoor play and learning is valued and is considered as having equal value to indoor learning, which is why we have recently refurbished our fantastic play spaces. We have specialist teachers covering PE, Music, Spanish and optional ballet, not something that you would usually encounter in day nurseries.

There are seven areas of learning and development. All areas of learning and development are important and inter-connected. Three areas are particularly crucial for igniting children’s curiosity and enthusiasm for learning, and for building their capacity to learn, form relationships and thrive. These three areas, the prime areas, are:

1. Communication and Language
2. Physical Development
3. Personal, Social and Emotional Development

We also support children in four specific areas, through which the three prime areas are strengthened and applied. The specific areas are:

4. Literacy
5. Mathematics
6. Understanding the World (feeds into the Key Stage 1 Science, Geography, History and ICT curriculum)
7. Expressive Arts and Design (feeds into the Key Stage 1 Art, Drama and Music curriculum)

The ways in which children engage with other people and their environment – playing and exploring, active learning, and creating and thinking critically – underpin learning and development across all areas and support the child to remain an effective and motivated learner.

For more information see: